British MPs vote to delay Brexit

British MPs vote to delay Brexit

British MPs have voted to delay Brexit just two weeks out from the departure date on 29 March.

The House of Commons supported the May Government’s motion to extend the leave date with 412 votes to 202.

UK Prime Minister Theresa May will now travel to Brussels in pursuit of an extension until 30 June, however it is understood European Union officials are planning to push for a longer period.

EU Council President Donald Tusk tweeted before the vote:

A EU Commission spokesman said in a statement that while British MPs have supported an extension, it is up to the the 27 EU member states to approve it.

“A request for an extension of Article 50 requires the unanimous agreement of all 27 member states,” he said.

“It will be for the European Council to consider such a request, giving priority to the need to ensure the functioning of the EU institutions and taking into account the reasons for and duration of a possible extension.

“President [Jean Claude] Juncker is in constant contact with all leaders.”

Regardless of whether Mrs May can agree an extension date with the EU, her twice-rejected Brexit deal will again be put before Parliament next week.

The extension vote followed an earlier vote on whether or not a second referendum should be held, which was rejected by 334 votes to 85.

Balanced journalism is essential to keeping people properly informed. If you feel our coverage of this story is biased, please let us know.